The East African Community (EAC) was founded in 1967 to strengthen ties between five countries in the African Great Lakes region – Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda – via a common market, a common customs tariff and a range of public services. Disagreements among the members caused the group to dissolve in 1977, but the EAC was reformed in 2000. A new customs union was established in 2005.